Prose…..on Running

Sunrise in August

WHAT ARE YOUR REASONS FOR RUNNING 10, 25 OR 100 MILES THEY OFTEN INQUIRE?
AND TO WHICH I OFTEN HAVE NO REPLY OTHER THAN TO STUTTER OUT…
I JUST DO IT, I DON’T EXACTLY KNOW THE WHY OF THIS INTERNAL FIRE

I RUN TO PUT ASIDE MY DEMONS FOR JUST A LITTLE WHILE
I RUN TO SEE HOW FAR I CAN PUSH MY BODY
TO SEE HOW FAR IT TAKES TO RUN BEFORE I BEGIN TO SMILE

I RUN TO PUT THE PAST BEHIND ME FOR JUST A BIT
OUT THERE ON THE TRAIL OR THE ROAD
THERE ARE NO MISTAKES TO HAUNT MY THOUGHTS
FOR THOSE PEACEFUL MOMENTS IN TIME I SHELVE THE HEAVY LOAD

I RUN TO CONVINCE MYSELF THAT I REALLY AM ABLE
DESPITE ALL THE DOUBT AND CRITICISM ENCOUNTERED
TO PUT ONE FOOT IN FRONT OF THE OTHER AND KEEP PUSHING
BEYOND THE PHYSICAL PAIN INTO ANOTHER REALM ALTOGETHER

HOW CAN YOU LEAVE YOUR FAMILY AT HOME WHILE YOU TRAIN FOR HOURS?
YOU ARE SO VERY SELFISH! I OFTEN HEAR THEM EXCLAIM
I HAVE NO RATIONAL REPLY BUT MANAGE THROUGH MY ANGER TO STUTTER OUT
I JUST DO IT, I DO IT TO SWEETEN THE PERSON INSIDE THE WORLD ATTEMPTS TO SOUR

IF SELFISH I AM FOR PUTTING MYSELF FIRST FOR JUST A FEW HOURS A WEEK
THEN ASK MY CHILDREN ABOUT THE LOVE THEY RECEIVE
ASK THEM IF YOU DARE WHAT KIND OF A MOTHER I AIM TO BE
THEY WILL TELL YOU I AM SURE, I AM HARD AND FAIR AND LOVE THEM DEEPLY.

OUTSIDE OF ALL THE TITLES OF WHO I AM SUPPOSED TO BE
NO MATTER WHAT THE HOLD ON ME
RUNNING EVEN THE HARDEST 25 MILES LEAVES ME SATED
FEELING COMPLETE, AS IF THE ENTIRE WORLD IS ONE OF POSSIBILITY.

~TLT 10/24/14

One thought on “Prose…..on Running

Leave a Reply

