My friend and brother…kinda…sharing his experience running The Army Marathon whilst on deployment.

Texas Trail Running Adventures by John

Last year when I registered to run #TAM-III (The day after TAM-II) I knew that I would not be running it.   Like last year’s marathon I was expecting to volunteer again this year.  Even going in with the expectation of volunteering for the event, I still registered to show my support for the event, the community, and the Race Director.  I would simply go out after the fact and “earn my bib” like I did last year.     During the summer of 2014 those plans changed and I would not be volunteering OR running…I was going to be in Afghanistan.  My arrival in Afghanistan was planned for only a week before the actual Army Marathon was to take place so there wasn’t even a way for me to coordinate a shadow run in theater.   Even though I was deploying I still volunteered to support this years Army Marathon…

View original post 1,782 more words

Leave a Reply

